• John Olsen’s home for 10 years
• Historically significant rural estate (c1832)
• Built and inhabited by Franciscan Monks in the early 1900s
• Original Cobb & Co Inn
• Mix of colonial, federation and bungalow-style buildings
• Award winning gardens with ornamental lakes and pontoon
• Dressage arena and holding paddock
• 2.5 hours from Sydney CBD
Breathtakingly beautiful in every way Chapel House is the epitome of an historic country estate with all the charm and character of yesteryear.
Surrounded by 9 acres of magnificent gardens wrapped around two ornamental lakes, featuring weeping willows, roses, Hydrangeas, Asters, Lillium and various perennials.
The property incorporates several truly unique buildings each with their own amazing story.
The oldest building is the Cobb and Co Inn, built of stone around 1832 and is mostly in ‘original’ condition. It is known as the Queen Victoria Inn but as Queen Victoria was not crowned until 1837, it probably had a previous name. The first publican of the Inn, Henry Rotton, later became a parliamentarian for the Bathurst region.
Behind that building is the quaint cottage now named The Owl Pen, which is believed to have been the original kitchen for the Inn.
Attached to the cottage is ‘the studio’. It started its life as an open air hand ball court for the Franciscan Monks who occupied the site from approximately 1919 to 1925.
A second storey was added in the 1970’s and was used as an art studio for 10 years by John Olsen, probably Australia’s best known contemporary artist.
The Franciscans also built the Georgian-style main home in 1920, attaching it to the Inn. This magnificent home features a large country kitchen, beautiful light filled dining and lounge rooms, a billiard room and 4 bedrooms.
By some strange twist of fate, the owners found out that the property was originally part of a land grant to the Reverend Henry Fulton, who was sent to Australia as a convict on the SS Minerva in 1803 for seditious practices. He returned to England to support Governor Bligh for his role in the Rum Rebellion and was later to be pardoned for services rendered to the Hawkesbury parish.
The current owner is a direct descendant of the Reverend Fulton, so in some respects, she came home, when she and her husband purchased the property in 1998.
Since that time, they have filled the garden beds with thousands of bulbs, hundreds of roses, built arbours, created meandering streams and lovingly tendered the magnificent grounds and buildings.
The property also incorporates 200 acres of land an enormous dressage arena and holding paddock and is located in the historic village of Rydal. Rydal is a small Heritage-Listed Village with two churches, a hotel and the railway station. The nearest shops are in Wallerawang about ten minutes drive away.
Mid September is a special time as many hundreds of people visit Rydal for the annual Daffodil Festival. It’s a springtime delight as Rydal becomes awash with yellow, and many in Rydal open their gardens to visitors.
The property is located just 20 minutes from Lithgow and 2.5 hours drive (& 3 hours by train) from Sydney. Chapel House is a truly magical estate that must be seen to be truly appreciated.
For more information or to arrange an inspection please contact Nicolette from Unique Estates on 0411 144 877.